Desk job? – heck no!

Standard

As the title of my blog suggests, I am a lawyer by profession, and a solo practitioner. I am thankful for being a solo practitioner because I do not have a typical desk job. Usually I spend my days traveling from courthouse to courthouse within the northern Chicago suburbs (I should say extreme northern – Skokie up to the Wisconsin border). If you have ever seen the movie “the Lincoln lawyer,” that is basically my job, without the driver or the huge brief cases full of $100 bills. This has given me time to practice yoga, run weekly miles toward my marathon training, as well as meditate as necessary.
This week, although technically 3 days, has been all paper and desk work for me. No yoga, running or meditation and the truth is, most people don’t want to be around me right now, because I am the moody shark no one wants to talk to. As a lawyer I have to put in the time, and of course I do, because my clients depend on me. I also do have to put some time aside to get on the mat or run five or six miles a day. It’s one hour, it shouldn’t be a huge deal. Why am I saying this? Because the difference is clear. When I run and/or practice yoga at least once a day, not only am I more productive, I am friendlier, and can better deal with the stress involved in my profession. That leads to everyone being happier an more satisfied.
Things work the way they do for a reason. During law school I interned for a large corporation’s legal department. This was all paper work all day long. My peers are required to bill 60 to 80 hours per week, remember not every hour worked is necessarily a billable hour. Yes, they may be raking in the huge bucks, but when do they have the time to enjoy them? I have had too many close calls to know that life is really way to short to waste it that way. Go ahead, call me crazy, if I have time to write a blog, practice yoga, have a family, spend time playing with my kids, train for and run 3-4 marathons a year why can’t I cut all those things and work at a large law firm? I could, but you wouldn’t be reading about it, and my kids wouldn’t see me, if they would, they would have a miserable pissed off daddy. (I would probably still be 40 pounds overweight, smoking cigarettes, eating fast food – been there – NOT GOING BACK)
That is why I could not have a typical desk job. Yes, I do spend hours at my desk, it is the nature of my profession. But as a solo practitioner, I am able to do the things I enjoy every day. When I am in a hurry and can’t have breakfast, I will put a Beat, a stalk of broccoli, some kale an apple and a cucumber though my juicer, put it in a bottle and drink it on my way to court – it is really very yummy! That is fast food I can drink and feel good about.
These are the reasons why I could not have a typical desk Job. Don’t be surprised if I add certified yoga instructor to my curriculum one day. For now, I am just a practitioner. Tomorrow I will go for a run, and you may then find the friendlier, nicer Bernie again.
Health, peace, love and good running!

Bernie

4 responses »

  1. Well said. It’s tough having a desk job. Did you not have time to work out or did you feel too tired after sitting at your desk all day this week? I’m curious to see if sitting all day made you feel extra lethargic. Namaste!

    • Thanks for your comment. I really did not have time to workout due to deadlines. It’s not that I did not work out because I was to tired, I just literally did not have time. My body is used to working out al least one hour a day, if I don’t, I feel lethargic. I can sit and do work, as long as I work out at some point in the day, when I don’t it not only affects me physically, it also affects me emotionally. So, if I run and / or practice yoga, I am able to go about my life normally. Thanks again – happy new year!

    • Thanks for your comment! i am able to make enough to support myself and my family, and to be happy. And I am able to live my life and do the things that really make me happy as well, which attorneys working 80-90 hours per week cannot do. Thanks and happy new year.

Leave a Reply

