Live, laugh, love

Standard

How many times have you heard or seen the quote “Live, laugh, Love” and shrugged it as being dumb or cliche? For some reason, this quote has always inspired me and I wish more people lived according to it. Yesterday I relocated my law office to another part of town. I actually returned to the office where I began and had been for a period of four years. I had this fancy office on a major intersection that was simply not working out. Yes, I was visible, but that never brought me clients. One may ask, what does this have to do with that quote? My answer a lot. Returning to a smaller but nicer office has put things into perspective. You don’t need extravagance to feel happy in life. In fact, other than health, a human being needs to live, laugh and love in Order to be happy.
After putting my office together today, I sat behind my desk and a actually felt happy. A happiness and freedom that I have not felt for two and a half years. Yes, I admit it, I was miserable at my last office because I would sit and listen to the sounds of traffic, ambulances, trucks, the hustle and bustle of modern life. All this noise, smell of pollution while waiting for clients that did not come. I realized that as a lawyer, when I do good work for my clients they refer my name, and I get other clients That will find me wherever I am. That is the way it has been and will be. My clients know I am there for them and that I not only look out for their legal interests, I make sure they’re ok in life – that brings me other clients, not a fancy office.
So everything was up including my posters from the 2011 and 2012 Chicago marathons, my diplomas, books, desks and so on. But I looked at the wall in front of my desk and realized there was nothing there at all. Still feeling great from being in my comfort zone, the first thing that came to mind was if I live, laugh and love, I think I will be ok. More on the wall to follow, but first, where does this famous quote come from?
“He has achieved success who has lived well, laughed often, and loved much;
Who has enjoyed the trust of pure women, the respect of intelligent men and the love of little children;
Who has filled his niche and accomplished his task;
Who has never lacked appreciation of Earth’s beauty or failed to express it;
Who has left the world better than he found it,
Whether an improved poppy, a perfect poem, or a rescued soul;
Who has always looked for the best in others and given them the best he had;
Whose life was an inspiration;
Whose memory a benediction.”
Elisabeth-Anne “Bessie” Anderson Stanley (born before 1900) is the author of the poem Success (What is success? or What Constitutes Success?), which is often incorrectly misattributed to Ralph Waldo Emerson or Robert Louis Stevenson.
So, this poem is on point as one who lived well, laughed often, and loved much will achieve success. Yes, I want to be successful, and being in my office today made me realize this is the path to success. Being in a huge office, simply because you are seen by many, who do not need what you have to offer is not a path to success.
As I looked at the empty wall I thought, can I put something there? The question was immediately answered, of course I can, I am my own boss, I am free, i am now happy. So I placed a candle holder, a candle, and decals containing the following words:
Live
Laugh
Love
Now every time I wonder or stare, I will see those remarkable words! These are really words we should all live by!
Thank you to all who read this – you share in my happiness, laughter and love for the world!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

